SHOWROOM OF PERFECTION – US Postal Service Kindness – Chapter 7

28 03 2011

US POSTAL SERVICE KINDNESS

When I get my next paycheck, I change the Austrian Schillings into Dollars. I write a note to my Meth-dealer with exact instructions on how to send me 40 dollars worth of speed inside a skin cream that is not available in Austria. I have it all figured out.
I get stamps and just to make sure, I get three times as many stamps as I’d need.
Almost done. But wait! What’s the guys address? I know how to get there; take the 10 to San Gabriel Blvd, make a left, a right and another left. What’s the name of his street? I lie down and breathe deeply, hypnotizing myself into the memory of the street sign. Rosemead? No. Garfield. Maybe. Alhambra? That’s it. Alhambra Blvd. I’m a winner, nobody can remember stuff like me. The street number? No idea. His last name? Hmmmm.
Fuck it. I sent an envelope with 40$ in cash to Richard, Alhambra Blvd in San Gabriel, CA, USA and then I wait. A week goes by and another one. But the hope gives me strength and I eat much less. I feel giddy with excitement. Another weeks passes and finally – be still my heart – I get mail from the USA.
I rip it open. Inside is my pleading letter to Richard. But it has been opened. By the US-Postal Service! There is a note attached, that’s says: “We apologize. We tried. But we could not locate the person you are trying to contact.”
Inside, wrapped into my pathetic envelope are the 40 Dollars.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

desmondhorn

A great WordPress.com site

Dunga Brook Diary

The rural life through the lens of an iPhone and notes from the field...

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

the shiny safety pin

the tales of a curiously crazy who?

LOOKBOOK

Aster Alice

